Winners announced for 2nd Annual NWT Film & Media Awards

The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) hosted the 2nd Annual NWT Film & Media Awards gala last Saturday in partnership with the NWT Film Commission.

Here is the full list of categories and nominees. Winners in bold.

Best Documentary Short

  • Summer of Smoke – Cabin Productions
  • Nunavunmiut Huqqullaagatigiiktut – Artless Collective
  • An Inuk Comes Home Through Art – Jimmy Thomson / The Narwhal

Best Narrative Short

  • The Unloving – Benjamin McGregor
  • Three Feathers – Dayah Films / South Slave Divisional Education Council
  • From The Start – Jay Bulckaert / Artless Collective

Best VR/360/Interactive Piece

  • Health Effects of Cannabis Interactive Augmented Reality Poster Series – Verge Communications / GNWT Health & Social Services
  • Northern Sights VR – Western Arctic Moving Pictures

Best Radio/Podcast Piece

  • The Deztro Show – Neverlow Studios / Cabin Radio
  • The Sled Runners – Janna Graham
  • YK Transit – Dans les archives de Radio Taiga – Radio Taiga

Best Commercial Piece – Government

  • Penny’s Advice – Ollie Williams Media / GNWT Health & Social Services
  • NWT Fire: How We Do Business – Artless Collective / GNWT Environment & Natural Resources
  • Making Food Caches – Tłı̨chǫ Government / Artless Collective

Best Commercial Piece – Non-Government

  • #TheNext40 – Public Policy & Energy Sovereignty in Arctic Communities – Artless Collective / Gwich’in Tribal Council
  • Slave River Paddlefest Promo – Jimmy Thomson / Slave River Paddlefest

Best Published Word Piece

  • Meet the Scientist Embracing Traditional Indigenous Knowledge – Jimmy Thomson / The Narwhal
  • ‘Beyond what our instruments can tell us’: merging Indigenous knowledge and Western Science at the edge of the world – Weronika Murray / The Narwhal
  • The journey of Gladys Radek and her fight for human rights – Charlotte Morritt-Jacobs / APTN News

Best Published Photo or Photo Series

  • Submerged – Applied Arts Opening Image – Angela Gzowski Photography
  • Northern Perspectives on the Sustainable Development Goals – Angela Gzowski Photography
  • Guardians of the North – Pat Kane Photo

YK Film Fest returns for 12th edition

The 12th annual Yellowknife International Film Festival (YKIFF) is set to take place from September 26-30, 2018 in NWT’s capital city.

A flagship event for the NWT film community, YKIFF presents a program of the best NWT-produced films as well as those from the circumpolar world along with a handpicked selection of international works.

Though an official program for 2018 has yet to be released, it is anticipated the NWT-produced feature film Elijah and the Rock Creature, written and directed by Jen Walden, will make its premiere.

The festival will also include a program of free filmmaking workshops as well as a gala reception hosted by the NWT Film Commission.

For more information on the Yellowknife International Film Festival, visit:

NWTPMA announces NWT’s first Media Industry Awards

The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) is excited to announce the First Annual NWT Media Awards! The awards will recognize excellence in the NWT film and media industry. The four categories are:

  • Best Narrative Short
  • Best Documentary Short
  • Best Commercial Piece (Government)
  • Best Commercial Piece (Non-Government)

Applications are open until August 31st at 11:59 pm. All entries will be judged by a panel of NWT industry professionals. The awards will be presented during the Yellowknife International Film Festival Gala on Saturday, September 29th. Each winner will receive a prize that is intended to encourage future projects in film and media.  

Jen Walden, President of the NWTPMA states: “It is about recognizing the amazing contribution to film and media in the NWT, as well as the talent that exists in the North. Over the past few years, there has been such growth and interest in this industry, and we see further development on the horizon, including the creation of local jobs. The NWTPMA feels that it is time to start recognizing individuals and teams that are making important contributions to this industry. The board hopes that this initiative will encourage individuals to continue pushing technical and artistic boundaries, and ultimately inspire people to consider careers in film and media.”

About the Organization: The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) was founded in 2011 to create a sustainable media industry that generates economy in the NWT. We do this by cultivating the professional growth of our members and influencing policy. The NWTPMA membership is made up of industry professionals who work in the film, television and media industries within the NWT.

Submissions can be made on NWTPMA’s website:

For more information on the awards, please contact: