Winners announced for 1st Annual NWT Film & Media Awards

The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) is excited to announce the winners of the First Annual NWT Film & Media Awards! These awards recognize excellence in the NWT film and media industry. The five categories and their winners are:

    • Best Narrative Short – She Keeps Me Warm
      • Directed by Scott Clouthier, Produced by Scott Clouthier & Heather Heinrichs
    • Best Documentary Short – I Hold the Dehcho in My Heart / Sedze Tah Dehcho E’toh
      • Directed by Lesley Johnson, Produced by Lesley Johnson & Amos Scott
    • Best Commercial Piece (Government) – Opening of the Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway
        • Commissioned by Department of Infrastructure, GNWT
      • Directed by David Stewart, Produced by Peter Clarkson
    • Best Commercial Piece (Non-Government) – Canadian Brilliance – Showcasing the 20th anniversary of the Ekati Diamond mine
        • Commissioned by Dominion Diamond Corporation
      • Directed by Jay Bulckaert and Pablo Saravanja, Co-produced by Artless Collective and Kellett Communications
  • Impact in Industry Award – Terry Woolf, Owner of Lone Woolf Film and Television Production Services
    • As the first recipient of this annual award, the NWTPMA recognizes Mr. Woolf’s four decades worth of accomplishments in the film and television industry in the NWT, as well as his countless hours spent mentoring the next generation of media producers.

The awards were presented during the Yellowknife International Film Festival Gala on Saturday, September 29th. The winners represent the best in film and media in the NWT!  

Jen Walden, President of the NWTPMA states: “It was amazing to see the level of competition in the first year of the awards, we had so many amazing entries! It is a privilege to recognize excellence in film and media in the NWT.” She expands to add “The NWTPMA hopes that with initiatives like the awards, the YK Film Festival, local film competitions, and our efforts to create training opportunities for local filmmakers, we will see industry growth in film and media. We look forward to seeing more projects coming out of the creative and dynamic population that lives in the Northwest Territories!”  

Award trophies handmade by North Soul Glass Studio.

About the Organization: The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) was founded in 2011 to create a sustainable media industry that generates economy in the NWT. We do this by cultivating the professional growth of our members and influencing policy. The NWTPMA membership is made up of industry professionals who work in the film, television and media industries within the NWT.

For more information on the awards, please contact:

To interview the winners, please contact Jesse Reid, Awards Organizer to get individual contact information | 867-445-3559 |