Shortlist released for 4th Annual NWTPMA Film & Media Awards

November 2nd 2022- The judge’s shortlist for the Northwest Territories Professional Media Association Film & Media awards has been released. These awards recognize excellence in NWT Film and Media.

Winners in all categories will be announced during the awards ceremony taking place at the NWTPMA Film & Media Awards Gala, on Saturday, November 5th.

Best Narrative Short:

  • The After– Adrienne Cartwright & Jessica Davey-Quantick
  • Transversal– Jen Walden
  • Curlfriends– Keith Robertson

Best Documentary Short

  • GONÀOWO- Artless Collective
  • The High Road– Keith Robertson
  • Dene Drum Songs in Gahnihthah– Jonathan Antoine
  • Tails on Ice– Miranda Currie
  • Okpik: Little Village in the Arctic- Caroline Cox, Tiffany Ayalilk, & Kylik Kisoun Taylor

Best Commercial

  • Fish’N the Arctic: Season 2– Ryan Gregory
  • People of the Land– Keith Robertson/ Tourism NWT
  • Paddling the Thelon– Keith Robertson/ Jackpine Paddle/Tourism NWT

Best Narrative Feature

  • Trapper Radio Series– Jeremy Emerson,Mary Coderre, & Davis Heslep

Best Radio/Podcast

  • Cabin Radio’s Lunchtime News– Cabin Radio

Best VR/360/Interactive

  • Ełeghàà; All at Once- Casey Koyczan/ Sidii Media Inc., Aabijijiwan New Media Lab, Inuit Futures

Best Published Photo

  • The Last Trappers– Pat Kane
  • Folk On The Rocks 2022– Cabin Radio/Sarah Pruys, Megan Miskiman, Laurissa Cebryk, Sophie Kuijper Dickson
  • The Nomad- Jamie Wetrade-Stevenson

Best Published Word

  • Should the NWT change its approach to Indigenous sentencing?– Emily Blake/Cabin Radio
  • Seeking data sovereignty, a First Nation introduces its own licence– Caitrin Pilkington/Cabin Radio
  • The Landlord’s Game– Sidney Cohen & John Last/ CBC North