Winners Announced for 4th Annual NWTPMA Film & Media Awards

The Northwest Territories Professional Media Association (NWTPMA) hosted the 4th Annual NWTPMA Film & Media Awards gala last Saturday in partnership with the NWT Film Commission.

Here is the full list of categories and nominees. Winners in bold.

Youth in Media:

  • Sadeé Walden

Best Commercial:

  • Fish’N the Arctic: Season 2– Ryan Gregory
  • People of the Land– Keith Robertson/ Tourism NWT
  • Paddling the Thelon– Keith Robertson/ Jackpine Paddle/Tourism NWT

Best Published Photo:

  • The Last Trappers– Pat Kane
  • Folk On The Rocks 2022– Cabin Radio/Sarah Pruys, Megan Miskiman, Laurissa Cebryk, Sophie Kuijper Dickson
  • The Nomad- Jamie Wetrade-Stevenson

Best Radio/Podcast:

  • Cabin Radio’s Lunchtime News– Cabin Radio

Best Published Word:

  • Should the NWT change its approach to Indigenous sentencing?– Emily Blake/Cabin Radio
  • Seeking data sovereignty, a First Nation introduces its own licence– Caitrin Pilkington/Cabin Radio
  • The Landlord’s Game– Sidney Cohen & John Last/ CBC North

Best VR/360/Interactive:

  • Ełeghàà; All at Once- Casey Koyczan/ Sidii Media Inc., Aabijijiwan New Media Lab, Inuit Futures

Best Narrative Short:

  • The After– Adrienne Cartwright & Jessica Davey-Quantick
  • Transversal– Jen Walden
  • Curlfriends– Keith Robertson & Bridget Rusk

Best Narrative Feature:

  • Trapper Radio Series– Jeremy Emerson,Mary Coderre, & Davis Heslep

Best Documentary Short:

  • GONÀOWO- Artless Collective
  • The High Road– Keith Robertson
  • Dene Drum Songs in Gahnihthah– Jonathan Antoine
  • Tails on Ice– Miranda Currie
  • Okpik: Little Village in the Arctic- Tiffany Ayalilk, & Kylik Kisoun Taylor (Honourable Mention)

Impact in Industry:

  • Artless Collective; Jay Bulckaert & Pablo Saravanja

Photos by Hannah Eden Photography